CharkBait! Internet Sportfishing    The CharkBoards!    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Tackle Talk  Hop To Forums  Tackle Tips and Techniques    Casting Reels, what's the big deal? and what am I doing wrong?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Casting Reels, what's the big deal? and what am I doing wrong?
 Login/Join

Pinhead
posted
I know this is controversial and I'll probably get many differing opinions. But, I'm really trying to figure out how I can improve my fish-whooping capabilities.
My background:
I live in Texas and fish the gulf of Mexico on private boats. I've been doing the offshore fishing thing for about 6 years. We do a fair amount of bottom bouncing for snapper. We also cast around the weedlines or other structure and I've been out on overnight trips for tuna. I like active fishing rather than fishing a dead bait. We catch some dolphin, kingfish, ling, etc. I had a couple AVETs for the bottom fishing and loved them. I also had a casting rod, so I recently bought an Avet SX MC. It's a lot of fun for casting, but I have very hard time working an artificial lure (working the rod while also managing to level wind). How do you work the lure and wind the line properly? Is there some special way to hold things?
Or for this type of fishing is a non-level wind not really the correct approach? I doesn't help that I'm used to reeling left-handed with spinning gear and fly rods, and my casting reel is right-handed.
The real reason I started this thread is that I've been out a couple times for tuna and want to get a rocking set-up of my own. The couple times I've been, we were casting poppers.
I understand the drag capabilities and fish fighting power of conventional reels, but just can't understand how I'd be able to effectively fish them in this style of fishing.
Am I missing something or for the type of fishing I'm doing is a spinning reel the best bet?

Thanks

Hammer

Posts: 2 | Registered: 26 October 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
CharkBait Staff
Captain