CharkBait! Internet Sportfishing    The CharkBoards!    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  CharkBait Forum  Hop To Forums  CharkBoard Chat    RE: Summer trolling questions!!
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

RE: Summer trolling questions!!
 Login/Join

Deckhand
posted
I still need help as I am a novice! I was curious about trolling for Albies and othe tuna this summer. I figure they will be between 20 to 30 lbs. Does 50 pound mono with a 80 pound floro leader on the lure sound about right? The other thing is I hear double and treble hooks are trouble on the lures. I am told single hooks are the way to go. My troubling issue is what do I troll? What size lure, colors, brands, etc... I know this has to do with the size of the fish and conditions but I am willing to bet my bottom dollar they will be about 20 to 30 lbs. What do you all suggest? I am guessing I need something between 5 to 6 inches in length with a 7/0 to 8/0 hook. My worry is that I will buy stuff like last year that is intended for bigger tuna you see on 5+ day trips. I plan on going on a 2 day trip in August. Fred Hall show is arround the corner and I want to get trolling tackle most suitable for that trip. I don't want to be a pest but help please! Trolling is something completely new to me.

Posts: 21 | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Captain
Picture of Big Fish
posted Hide Post