CharkBait! Internet Sportfishing    The CharkBoards!    Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Tackle Talk  Hop To Forums  Tackle Help    8 day tackle advice??
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

8 day tackle advice??
 Login/Join

Pinhead
posted
Newbie here to the charkboards. I have been lurking for sometime here and am always drooling Eeker in the tackle shop. Well I am gearing up for my 1st 8-day trip next year on the Indy (Trip #7 June 2008 seeker open). I have been on a few 3-5 day trips they were not long enough so decided on a longer trip.
So I am asking for some advise from the veterans here on if I am making the right choices in terms of gear. Trying to organize all my stuff and after reading all the various postings on several websites to include this one it looks like the main go to gear is the #30 and #40 rigs on the early summer long range trips.

1- 25# newell 229-5
2- 30# Torium 16 (50 Spectra 30# mono)
3- 30# Saltist 30 (50 Spectra 30# mono)
4- 40# Avet JX 6/4 (65 spectra 40# mono)
5- 40# Torium 30 (65 spectra 40# mono)
6- 50# Progear 454 (80 spectra 50# mono)

I still do not have any rigs for 60-80# I am leaning towards the Avet 30/2. Any recommendations? and for the 100# rig I think I am going to rent from the boat. It would be nice to have it but just dont have the funds to drop on it at this time.

Any comments/suggestions would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

B1

Posts: 3 | Registered: 11 September 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Captain
posted Hide Post
Welcome aboard, have a great trip.

On my only 10-day thus far (last year) I had only four rigs, and bagged fish right and left.

My most productive reel was the Avet 30-2.

But, I am a newbie...

Posts: 302 | Registered: 17 June 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Captain
Picture of DODOMAN
posted Hide Post
welcome aboard, as for the collection you have , it looks great, dont know what kinda rods you puttin them on, but obviuosly you have done multidays trip before.